Haliburton County

Haliburton County was originally organized in 1874 as the Provisional County of Haliburton, with townships being withdrawn from other counties and districts:

Transferred fromTownships
Victoria CountyAnson, Hindon, and Lutterworth
Peterborough CountyBruton, Cardiff, Dysart, Dudley, Glamorgan, Guilford, Harburn, Harcourt, Minden, Monmouth, Snowden, and Stanhope
Nipissing DistrictClyde, Eyre, Havelock, Lawrence, Livingstone, McClintock, Nightingale, and Sherborne

Haliburton County now consists of the following municipalities:

  • Township of Algonquin Highlands
  • The United Townships of Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde (often referred to as the Municipality of Dysart et al)
  • Municipality of Highlands East
  • Township of Minden Hills

Communities in the county include Haliburton, Minden, Wilberforce, Gooderham, Irondale, Cardiff, West Guilford, Eagle Lake and Fort Irwin.